ПРЕДПРИНИМАТЕЛИ, ИНВЕСТОРЫ

Image by Adeolu Eletu

ПРОЧИЙ ДОХОД

Служащие

Зарплата и другие виды компенсации, выплачиваемые служащим нерезидентам, как правило, облагаются по такой же точно налоговой ставке, как и для резидентов США. Если вы работаете как служащий на территории США, то вы также должны платить налоги в фонд социального страхования и программы медицинской помощи (social security and Medicare taxes).

 

Индивидуальные предприниматели

Если вы не являетесь служащим компании, для которой вы оказываете услуги в США, работодатель обязан удержать 30% налог на вашу компенсацию (более низкая ставка налога возможна в случае, если таковая прописана в межгосударственном соглашении). Предприниматели обязаны следовать этим правилам независимо от места проживания, места заключения контракта или места оплаты.

Налог на самозанятых

 

Налоги на самозанятых (self-employment tax) — это налоги в фонд социального страхования и программы медицинской помощи для индивидуальных предпринимателей. Нерезиденты не подпадают под действие этого налога, за исключением специальных случаев, предусмотренных международными договорами.

 

Подача налоговой декларации

 

Нерезиденты обязаны декларировать все налогооблагаемые доходы. Это правило относится как к доходам, которые связаны с предпринимательской деятельностью в США (облагаются по прогрессивной налоговой ставке), так и к доходам, которые не связаны (not effectively connected with a trade or business in the United States) с предпринимательской деятельностью в США (облагаются по фиксированной налоговой ставке).

Вы можете учитывать удержанные в течение года налоги при подачи годовой налоговой декларации на форме 1040NR. ​

Замечание касательно штатов.

Как правило, власти штатов также требуют удержания и уплаты налогов с дохода, полученного на территории штата нерезидентам. Обратите внимание, что законодательство штатов зачастую сильно отличается от федерального и каждый штат имеет свой свод правил и законов. Штаты также имеют право накладывать штрафы и пени в случае несоблюдения их налогового законодательства.

SOLE PROPRIETORS, INVESTORS
Image by Adeolu Eletu

PERSONAL SERVICE INCOME

Employee

Wages and other compensation paid to a nonresident alien for services performed as an employee are usually subject to graduated withholding at the same rates as resident aliens and U.S. citizens. Therefore, your compensation, unless it is specifically excluded from the term “wages” by law, or is exempt from tax by treaty, is subject to graduated withholding. If you work as an employee in the United States, you must pay social security and Medicare taxes in most cases.

 

Independent Contractors

If there is no employee–employer relationship between you and the person for whom you perform services or labor in the United States, your compensation is subject to the 30% (or lower treaty) rate of withholding. This rule applies regardless of your place of residence, the place where the contract for service was made, or the place of payment.

 

Self-Employment Tax

 

Self-employment tax is the social security and Medicare taxes for individuals who are self-employed. Nonresident aliens are not subject to self-employment tax unless an international social security agreement in effect determines that they are covered under the U.S. social security system.

 

Reporting Income

 

Nonresident aliens must report each item of income that is taxable. This includes both income that is effectively connected with a trade or business in the United States (subject to graduated tax rates) and income from U.S. sources that is not effectively connected (subject to a flat 30% tax rate or lower tax treaty rate).

You can claim the tax withheld during the year as a payment against your U.S. tax. You claim it on Form 1040NR. The tax withheld reduces any tax you owe with Form 1040NR.

State Issues

Generally, a state authority also requires tax payments or/and withholding on payments made to nonresidents for income received from state sources. Please note that state tax rules are complicated and every state has its own set of rules. When state tax rules are not followed, there are penalties and interest imposed.